Dekada Uno

I’ve been truly hurt only twice before. And almost a decade apart.

The first time was out of my control. The second, because I had no control over myself.

The first, because I didn’t fight for what I wanted; I was young and weak. The second, because what I wanted was no match for my overgrown ego.

Two feelings felt at opposite ends of a decade. Entirely different situations, but still entirely alike.

Not much has changed after all — even with age, even with time.

Because the reality is: superficial changes aside, the core stays the same.

The hurt can subside, but the scars of such pain will always remain.

Leave a Reply

